A Face Of Truth

Today I put on a face of determination. That includes a flick on the eye, a bold lip for a change, and a smirk. Everyone has different faces for different moments and different environments, but I have only ever had one face. Whether it be painted to the hilt, or bare; I have always had the same face and I will always have the same face. Walking outside, in a world I’m not most familiar with, I am recognized and in turn I am in shock. I was under the impression that wearing a lot of makeup drowns a person and creates a false image, whereas people still recognize me with or without makeup- even when I believe I am painting a false image. It’s because I don’t change my face to the point of it being someone else’s; is what I was told. Facial modes will change given time and given challenges, but I will forever have the same face. I’ve always admired different characters, different books, different stories, simply being different. But maybe I don’t have to be different, because I’m already an original. I will not place myself under my own telescope anymore. I will not listen to those who give me questioning looks, or pick at me from their throne of life’s lies, I am here to be one person and love myslef. I am determined to prove that I only paint a face of truth. 

Leave a Reply

